Internet Junkie Drama
[18:16] || Stylezed decided to join [development channel I moderate]
[18:16] Stylezed, “$%^# you”
[18:16] Stylezed, stabs Asylum in the head
[18:16] || Stylezed decided to leave [development channel I moderate]
I received a phone call from the owner of the channel a bit after that and then from that performed a whowas due to the user leaving already. Below are the results.
[21:05] || WhoWas info for: Stylezed
[21:05] || Address: xizm@206.222.5.218
[21:05] || Nick: StyleZed
[21:05] || Server: [networkname] Sun Mar 11 22:19:15 2007
From this I find the users ip address and perform a php function call on it like gethostbyaddr(“206.222.5.218″)
This returns aogservice.com
I then browse to the ip address in my browser and see the following message.
THIS IS NOT AOGSERVICE.COM AOGSERVICE.COM IS BEING ILLEGALY POINTED TO THIS HOST AND THIS HOST IS NOTHING TO DO WITH AOGSERVICE.COM IF THIS ABUSE DOES NOT CEASE THE OWNERS OF THIS HOST WILL CONTACT GODADDY WHO ARE THE REGISTRAR FOR AOGSERVICE.COM AND DEMAND THAT THE ABUSE BE DEALT WITH!!!!!
That host name however is something altogether different. The reason I am posting this is that first I have no idea who this user was.
The location of the ip is:
City: Columbus, OH -
Latitude: 39°99′68″ North
Longitude: 82°98′83″ West
That is in no way related to anyone I know. The websites logs have been scanned and this is not a visitor here that we have record of. We do not track all visitors ip addresses but when commenting or anything of the like they are logged. So nothing for answers there and now the next issue is that this user came to a totally unrelated and private network, joined a channel that is totally unrelated and verbally assaulted me instantly and then left. If you search just right you can find information related to me that ties this all together but this person would have had to invested a considerable amount of time into it for a purpose that is totally oblivious to myself or anyone else at this time outside of some of the things we have found ourselves stirred up in here about content but this does not seem to be anything of that nature. Just the same whomever “Stylezed” is it is all on record here.
Not sure how to take this really. Never received hate for anything before on the web and with no explanation even. What do you think? I don’t think it is random per se but it is obvious someone’s machine is compromised somewhere and they are listed on the site here and are now ticked. As of this time I have only searched the logs for full ip matches but I will next search for matches in the first three octets and go from there. We will see I guess. Interesting just the same.
Heh. How is that for some Internet junkie drama? Tune in next week as the saga continues
January 20th, 2010 at 10:47 pm
Dude… I am StyleZed – And I know this must have been me because my hostmask and ident always began with xizm. I also recognise the IP which was a dedicated server I was using at the time – the aogservice.com thing.. well I found out that someone had pointed the aogservice.com domain to the http daemon on the dedicated server.. So I put up that page with the message you have posted…
However, I am unsure who you are and how any information on this site “ties this all together” or why you would think it was anything “stirred up” by content on this site. Also you IP trace was way out. The dedicated box was actually at a data centre in Northern California. I was residing in So Cali at the time and was accessing the box using X-Windows over SSH.
If the nickname you were using at the time was Asylum then this was simply a case of mistaken identity. I do not recall which IRC network this occured on. I used to use Undernet and Efnet in them main, but occasionally used other networks. There was a user, a friend of mine, who used the nick Asylum on these 2 networks. I had scripted my IRC client to join a channel he was active in and automatically abuse him as my client joined the network. What appears to have happened is that as my client joined an unknown new network (for whatever reason) the script kicked in, found your nick (Aslyum) and did what it had been scripted to do… join, say “$%^# you”, stab you in the head and leave.
There was nothing sinister about it. A simple case of a private joke going mistakenly public due to shoddy scripting.
Sorry if it caused any distress or worry. I only just say this posting now… having searched for my old nickname using Google.
Yours Sincerely.
StyleZed
January 21st, 2010 at 6:51 pm
wow, took a while. was unsure if anyone would ever come forward to describe what that was actually all about. I only made this post as the channel founder had requested I make a post about it. After having seen the message and all I figured it was a compromised machine much like the others I was speaking of when I mentioned the tie with information on this site. In the past we had a number of compromised hosts scrapping data and displaying it on their own sites with their adsense accounts. aogservice.com was one of them. I thank you for contacting me just the same. I have no worries or distress as a result though
Also on another note, I have been on both the networks you mention with the nick Asylum and I once knew someone who went by StyleZed. May have been you.